TN: An amazing Tokaji tasting in London

5 respuestas
    N_Neocleous

TN: An amazing Tokaji tasting in London

Ver mensaje de N_Neocleous

There are now more ways of communicating with people than ever before. Be it text messaging on your mobile phone or e-mail/Bulletin Boards, we have developed many new acronyms. One commonly used is “TIA”, which means “Thanks in advance”. Of course, I was reminded by a friend and medical doctor from Philadelphia that “TIA” in medical terms “transient ischemic attack”. This is a neurological term for a type of stroke (decreased blood flow to the brain which is temporary thought to be caused by constriction of blood vessels in the brain).

I work in finance and there can sometimes be similarities with words having different meanings in other fields. For example, a “put option” is an option contract that gives the holder the right to sell a certain quantity of an underlying security to the writer of the option, at a specified price (strike price) up to a specified date (expiration date). You can buy put options for securities in many markets all over the world. However, “puts” is also an abbreviation that I have heard used for the level of sweetness in Hungarian dessert wines.

My good friend Charles Morgan had very kindly invited me to a tasting of Hungarian Tokaji wines in Central London. The venue was the fine art deco antiques dealer of Alexander von Moltke, located near Sloane Square in central London. An enterprising Hungarian chap named Gyorgy Losonci had set up the tasting. He had arranged for a Hungarian Sommelier named Robert Tozser to present all of the wines to us.