The 25 best NEW wine producers according to Jancis

16 respuestas
    JoanF
    en respuesta a JoanF

Jaume I + Abadal

Ver mensaje de JoanF

Hello Walt,

I’m quite astonished about your knowledge of Jaume I and Catalonia.. how did you get that knowledge (if I can ask it)? Did you get it through a bottle of Grans Muralles (I’m joking :^DDDD).

Regarding Abadal, I tried the white Picapoll (a re-discovered white grape), and Cabernet-Franc as red wine, but I didn’t see any othre wines around here (hey, sometimes catalan/spanish market is so queer that perhaps US can get more wines than I do). Which Abadals have you tried?

Salut!

Joan

WaltZalenski
    en respuesta a JoanF

Re: Jaume I + Abadal

Ver mensaje de JoanF

Easy answer. My girlfriend is a Mallorquina. Plus I’ve been traveling to Barcelona regularly for 5-6 years and have read probably every history book in English about the city and Catalonia generally.

I think Abadal’s Picapoll is an exciting wine. While some of the best Abadal wines are imported to the US, I’ve tried almost all of them at the winery. I think the Cabernet-Franc wine that you tried is actually an unusual blend of Cab-Franc and Tempranillo. I recommend the Seleccio which, characteristic of Pla de Bages, has wonderful aromas of wild herbs, particulary lavendar. (Seleccio is made from 40% Cab, 40% Cab-Franc, and 20% Syrah.) Also the 2003 Merlot will be a great wine for the price.

Besides the Picapoll, I recall being told by Joan Soler, Abadal’s thoughtful and sincere winemaker, about some other almost-extinct grapes that they may have identified. Whether or not these discoveries lead to new wine, I think this bodega has a bright future.

JoanF
    en respuesta a JoanF

Ver mensaje de JoanF

Good! I was very surprised!

By the way, from which part of the US are you? (just curious, you don’t need to answer).

Does your girlfriend like wine too?