Swiss offline with Wine Spectator’s Marc

8 respuestas
    Gastronauta

Swiss offline with Wine Spectator’s Marc

Ver mensaje de Gastronauta

Marc is NOT a serial killer!
    I know: for a compliment it isn’t THAT cool, but it was my first real offline, and one I had been anticipating for two years! There is no heading that would do justice to it anyway…
    From the general to the particular: Switzerland is truly a beautiful place, it was cold as hell for November, even snowy on Sunday morning; the Conference (on contemporary American poetry) was great; Fribourg is small, medieval, and charmingly provincial…but all I needed was a good—or at least original—wineshop, and a superb restaurant. It has both.
    As warming up Marc gave me a good shopping tip about the Cantina del Mulino (www.cantinadelmulino.ch), a nice place with mostly organic and biodynamic growers. The top two bottlings of champagne Larmandier Bernier and a couple of promising Rieslings (Nikolaihof Smaragd vom Stein 2001 and Ostertag Moenchberg 2000) now rest in my cellar for about 60% of what they would cost in Spain (where they are not available anyway).
    On Friday evening—just after I finished my presentation—Marc appeared at the train station, gave me a call and waited outside in the cold (an unpractical Swiss tradition if you ask me, it took me about a full minute to find him) until I appeared. Youngish and very much like the picture I had seen, the guy embodies all the positive stereotypes about the Swiss we have been taught (apple on his head, horribly polite, and thanks to his experience living in Spain not a bad guy after all!!). What the hell, after all the morning nonsense we’ve shared we had no choice but to take to each other immediately.